Dr. Kareen Seidler | Deutsches Institut für Humor®

Dr. Kareen Seidler

Spokesperson and Research Assistant


Kareen Seidler is press officer of the German Institute for Humour. She makes sure the institute is present in the old and the new media and that the beneficial and appreciative aspects of humour are carried from Leipzig into the world.

 

She is also responsible for research at institute – and a regular book worm. Kareen offers concise and simple summaries of complicated humour research. Concerning the scientific side of humour, she’s mainly fascinated by its practical and theoretical implications for the business world, for medicine and for pedagogy.

 

Kareen studied English, Spanish and Comparative Literature in Geneva and Cambridge. For her doctoral thesis, she looked at how Shakespeare’s works first came to Germany. Alongside her studies, she’s worked for ARD (German Radio and Television Network), as a teaching- and research-assistant at the University of Geneva and at the Dahlem Humanities Center of Freie Universität Berlin. She also works as a translator and goes to the odd conference, preferably those with Shakespeare in the title.

Dr. Kareen Seidler | Deutsches Institut für Humor®

Dr. Kareen Seidler

Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit


Kareen Seidler ist Pressesprecherin des Deutschen Instituts für Humor®. Sie sorgt dafür, dass das Institut in den neuen und alten Medien präsent ist, und dass die wertschätzenden und förderlichen Aspekte des Humors von Leipzig in die weite Welt hinausgetragen werden.

 

Außerdem arbeitet sie als Wissenschaftliche Leiterin des Humorinstituts. Das passt, denn sie ist ein ziemlicher Bücherwurm: Artikel, Zeitschriften, Fach- und Wörterbücher sind ihre Welt. Kareen fasst komplizierte Studien zur Humorforschung verständlich zusammen. An der wissenschaftlichen Seite von Humor fasziniert sie vor allem sein Einsatz in der Arbeitswelt, der Medizin und der Pädagogik.

 

Kareen hat in Genf und Cambridge Englisch, Spanisch und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaften studiert. In ihrer Promotion hat sie sich angeschaut, wie Shakespeares Werk nach Deutschland kam. Neben ihrem Studium ist sie diversen Tätigkeiten nachgegangen: beim ARD-Studio in der UNO in Genf, als Wissenschaftliche Assistentin an der Universität Genf, im Dahlem Humanities Center und als Lehrbeauftragte an der Freien Universität Berlin. Derzeit arbeitet sie außerdem als freiberufliche Übersetzerin. Auch dem Theater steht Kareen nahe, manchmal auf oder hinter der Bühne, und oft im Zuschauerraum.